I used to be a hoarder…

Have you seen the newish show on TLC “Hoarders: Buried Alive”? While I’ve been hanging out with Ellie, I have some extra time to watch these day time shows… Hoarders is about people who have a problem with keeping crap! They live in filth on a daily basis. Most of the time you can’t see the floor because it’s covered in trash, old food, newspapers, etc… A lot of the time people have had a traumatic experience & they basically get out of control. Sometimes it’s an easy “fix” & these “victims” go on their way. But other times people put up a huge fight and it holds them back. By keeping all of this material crap these people are loosing their family, jobs, and even life!

While watching this it came to mind how so many people in this world are some sort of hoarder! I used to be one too… How you ask? By keeping feelings, hurt, hate, etc all bottled up is a type of hoarding! Your insides, heart, & mind looks and smells like those houses we see on tv! Filled with dirty laundry, old food, & more! You know, I’ve had a lot of reasons to hoard! My parents have gone through a divorce in my lifetime. My mom has been in a horrible wreck this past year. I have had friends randomly come in my life and leave abruptly. People who I thought would be there for my lifetime. I have to make a conscious decision everyday that I’m not going to let all of this crap bog me down! Because if I let this stuff sit stagnant in my heart & mind I would make myself sick. Literally sick! It would hinder me from my current relationships with friends and family! Plus it would prevent me from having good future relationships! So why waste time, life, and happiness by keeping all this junk?!?!

Now, don’t get me wrong… I’m not perfect. Not even close! I have trouble with letting go. It’s the same conversation for Stephen & I. He is just like a duck in water. Nothing can seem to phase him much. I don’t understand how he makes it seem so easy! Me on the other hand, I take everything in! And over analyze it… It is a daily task to let go of all the junk. So I encourage you to do so. Life is too short to be anything but happy. Cliché thing for me to say… But it’s the truth.

Leave a Reply

